Add a review

Idukki : This beautiful high range district of Kerala is geographically known for its hills and dense forests. For the people of Kerala, Idukki is always associated with power generation. About 66% of the State’s power needs come from the Hydroelectric Power Projects in Idukki. The district accounts for 12.9 per cent of the area of Kerala and only 3.7 per cent of the population of Kerala. Idukki district was formed on 26 January 1972. The district consists of Devikulam, Udumbanchola and Peermedu taluks of the erstwhile Kottayam district and Thodupuzha taluk (excluding two villages Manjallore and Kalloorkadu) of the erstwhile Ernakulam district. At the time of formation the district headquarters started functioning at Kottayam and from there it was shifted to Painavu in Thodupuzha taluk in June 1976, where it is proposed to build a new planned forest township.

District Collector  :    Tel: 0486-2233103 , 0486-2233101(F), 9447032252 (M)
Members of Parliament Constituency:  Shri (Adv.) Dean Kuriakose- M-09447877369
District Police Chief :  Tel: 0486-2233006  , Mob: 9497996981

Helpline Numbers

Ambulance 108
Fire Station 101
State Disaster Management Control Room 1070
District Disaster Management Control Room (Collectorate) 1077
District Information Office 04862-233036, 09496003211
Police Station (Nearest) 100
Child Helpline 1098
Women Helpline 1091
Crime Stopper 1090
Call Center  for General Query 1961
Civil Supplies 1967 (Toll free no:)
DIAL A DOCTOR (Toll free Tele Health Helpline) BSNL Toll free No: 1056 | 0471- 2552056 (Other connections)
Kerala Water Authority (Toll free no.) 1800-425-5313 (24×7)
KSEB 1912 | 0471- 2555544
‘Mitra’ Women Hepline 181 (24×7)

Leave a Reply